Board of Education Members

2017 Board of Education Members

The Worcester County Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected (by district) by the voters of Worcester County. The term of office is four years. In addition, the Board has three non-voting student members who represent each high school. Board members elect a president and vice president from among the membership.   

Pictured Above, From Left: William L. Gordy, President (District 4), Barry Q. Brittingham, Sr. (District 2), Robert A. Rothermel, Jr. (District 7), Elena McComas (District 5), Eric W. Cropper, Sr. (District 6), Sara D. Thompson (District 3), and J. Douglas Dryden, Vice President (District 1)  

Mr. Louis H. Taylor, Superintendent of Schools
H. Stephen Price, Chief Operating Officer
Dr. John Quinn, Chief Academic Officer
Heather Stansbury, Board Attorney
Barbara Phillips, Administrative Assistant

Student Representatives

The Board of Education is an advocate of students and recognizes the importance of the student perspective. Three students representing each full-service high school are selected by their school's Student Government Association and/or the school's administrative team to serve their senior year as the Student Representative to the Board of Education. Student Representatives attend monthly meetings and provide input on instructional and administrative issues.

Peyton Becker, Pocomoke High School
Ayonna Brunson, Snow Hill High School
Michael Mareno, Stephen Decatur High School