Board of Education Members

Board of Education - October 2021

The Worcester County Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected (by district) by the voters of Worcester County. The term of office is four years. In addition, the Board has three non-voting student members who represent each high school. Board members elect a president and vice president from among the membership.   

Members of the Board of Education

Elena McComas
Elena J. McComas

President, District 5
Todd Ferrante
Todd A. Ferrante
Vice President, District 7
Bill Buchanan 
William E. Buchanan
District 1
 Donald Smack
Donald C. Smack, Sr.
District 2
Jon Andes 
Jon M. Andes, Ed.D.
District 3
Bill Gordy
William L. Gordy
District 4
Nate Passwaters
Nathaniel J. Passwaters
District 6

Mr. Louis H. Taylor, Superintendent of Schools
Dr. Dwayne Abt, Chief Safety & Human Relations Officer
Ms. Denise Shorts, Chief Academic Officer Gr. PK - 8
Mr. Vincent Tolbert, Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Annette Wallace, Chief Operating & Academic Officer Gr. 9-12
Ms. Heather Stansbury, Board Attorney
Mrs. Dawn Peterson, Administrative Assistant

Student Representatives to the Board of Education

The Board of Education is an advocate of students and recognizes the importance of the student perspective. Three students representing each full-service high school are selected by their school's Student Government Association and/or the school's administrative team to serve their senior year as the Student Representative to the Board of Education. Student Representatives attend monthly meetings and provide input on instructional and administrative issues.

McKenna Selby, Pocomoke High School
Ja'Naz Crawley, Snow Hill High School
Aryavir SangwanStephen Decatur High School