Health/Physical Education


Physical Education Programs

The goal of Pre K-12 physical education is to help students become responsible citizens who are both physically educated and health literate.

All Prek-8th grade students attend physical education classes each year. Elementary students receive approximately 60-120 minutes of physical education each week. Middle school students receive approximately 90-180 minutes of physical education each week. All high school students are required to take at least .5 credits of PE, paired with at least .5 credits of Health in order to graduate.

Each student will set and achieve personally challenging goals in physical activity, apply higher order thinking skills to human movement, and ultimately design personal movement and fitness plans. Students will be able to display the skills and practices of a physically active lifestyle, knowing the benefits of their choices to be involved in physical activity. They will be physically fit and have a mindset that values physical activity and its benefits in sustaining healthy lifestyles.

The physical education standards (below) define what a student should know and be able to do as result of a highly effective physical education program.

Standard 1 - The physically literate individual demonstrates competency in a variety of motor skills and movement patterns.

Standard 2 - The physically literate individual applies knowledge of concepts, principles, strategies and tactics related to movement and performance.

Standard 3 - The physically literate individual demonstrates the knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-enhancing level of physical activity and fitness.

Standard 4 - The physically literate individual exhibits responsible personal and social behavior that respects self and others.

Standard 5 - The physically literate individual recognizes the value of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, self-expression and/or social interaction.

The Maryland State Curriculum Standards for Physical Education can be found here: MD Physical Education Framework

For questions regarding Physical Education curriculum, please contact Tamara Mills by emailing [email protected].

Health Education Programs

Elementary students receive health education through their Physical Education classes and through the county's Integrated Health Literacy program (Health concepts integrated into reading, math, science and social studies). For more information about Integrated Health Literacy, please see the IHLP section of our website. At the northern end of our county, Berlin Intermediate School offers a separate, comprehensive health class for all 4-6th graders.

Middle school students receive health education through their Physical Education classes, HealthFACS classes and the Integrated Health Literacy program.

High school students must take at least .5 credits of health, paired with at least .5 credits of PE in order to graduate. All health classes and units are designed to align with the Maryland State Curriculum Standards for Health Education or the Integrated Health Literacy Standards.

The Maryland State Curriculum Standards for Health Education can be found here: MD Health Education Framework
This framework, adopted by MSDE in July 2020, with an edit for high school graduation requirements in June 2021.
The standards include concepts on health content topics such as: substance use disorders, mental and emotional health, sexual health, safety and disease prevention, and healthy eating. They also include skills-based standards such as: Goal setting and Decision Making,  Analyzing Influences of Peers and Media, Accessing Valid and Accurate Health Sources, Interpersonal Communication and Becoming a Health Advocate.

For questions regarding Health curriculum, please contact Tamara Mills by emailing [email protected].

Family and Consumer Science Programs

Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) Education empowers individuals to manage the challenges of living and working in a diverse global society. Students develop human literacy as they master a complex set of essential skills and knowledge needed to achieve quality of life. They gain career preparedness as they acquire readiness to participate in a rapidly changing workforce and global economy. There are eight areas, nationally, that encompass the family and consumer sciences:

- Consumer Education and Resource Management
- Early Childhood Education and Services
- Family and Interpersonal Relationships
- Food Production and Services
- Foods, Nutrition and Wellness
- Housing, Interiors and Design
- Parenting Education and Human Development
- Textiles, Apparel and Fashion

In Worcester County, our high school FACS classes touch on some of these concepts, paying careful attention to Family & Interpersonal Relationships, Food & Nutrition and Financial Literacy.

For questions regarding FACS  curriculum, please contact Tamara Mills by emailing [email protected].